CELEBRITY IN THE ENGLISH MEDIADISCOURSE: A LINGUOPRAGMATIC ASPECT

  • Olena Volodymyrivna Frenkel
Keywords: celebrity, celeb-on-celeb interview, self-presentation strategy, tactics of assertive selfpresentation, tactics of preventive self-presentation

Abstract

Purpose. The aim of the article is the linguopragmatic analysis of celebrity’s performance in the English media communication: to reveal the typology of tactics for public persons’ self-presentation, to study communicative and speech means for their objectivation in the English speech of male respondents, to investigate the influence of sociocultural and gender peculiarities of the communicators on the process of their self-presentation activity.

Methods. The following methods are used the descriptive method to study such a type of a language personality in media communication as «celebrity»; the method of a continuous selection of celeb-on-celeb interview samples from the mass media resources; the methods of discourse-analysis and content-analysis that combine qualitative and quantitative techniques for studying interview texts of considerable wordage and defining the communicative strategy of self-presentation and its tactics used by the respondents.

Results. The study of celebrity's self-presentation in the English celeb-on-celeb interviews assists in distinguishing assertive and preventive self-presentation, in the boundaries of which a group of tactics that realize definite respondents' intentions for creating a positive image are defined. It facilitates revealing the influence of gender, sociocultural, psychophysiological features of a public person on the specifics of self-presentation in mass media communication.

Conclusions. Celebrity in media communication is viewed, on the one hand, as axiologically marked, because he/she predetermines a system of values in the western mass culture, and, on the other – as a modelling personality, that is recognized according to a typical verbal and non-verbal behaviour and values. The process of drawing attention to a public person is realized by means of the communicative strategy of self-presentation, due to which famous respondents reconstruct their personal branding.

References

1. Богин Г. И. Типология понимания текста : учебн. пособие / Г. И. Богин. Калинин : Изд. КГУ, 1986. 84 с.
2. Бороздина Г. В. Психология делового общения : учебник / Г. В. Бороздина. Москва : Инфра-М, 1999. 224 с.
3. Вайсгербер Й. Л. Родной язык и формирование духа / Пер. с нем., вступ. ст. и коммент. О. А. Радченко. Изд.
2-е, испр. и доп. [текст] / Йохан Лео Вайсгербер. Москва : Едиториал УРСС, 2004. 232 с.
4. Виноградов В. В. О художественной прозе / В. В. Виноградов. Москва ; Ленинград : Наука, 1930. 186 с.
5. Воркачев С. Г. Лингвокультурология, языковая личность, концепт : становление антропоцентрической парадигмы в языке знаний / С. Г. Воркачев // Филологические науки. 2001. № 1. С. 64-72.
6. Зборовский Г. Е. История социологии: классический этап : учеб. для вузов / Г. Е. Зборовский ; Гос. образоват. учреждение высш. проф. образования ХМАО. Югры «Сургут. гос. пед. ун-т» ; . Урал. федерал. ун-т им. первого Президента России Б. Н. Ельцина. 2-е изд. испр. и доп. Сургут и [др.] : РИО СурГПУ, 2014. 211 с.
7. Иссерс О. С. Коммуникативные стратегии и тактики русской речи. Москва : Реал, 2005. 236 с.
8. Иссерс О. С. Коммуникативные стратегии и тактики русской речи. Москва : ЛКИ, 2012. 299 с.
9. Карасик В. И. Языковой круг : личность, концепты, дискурс [Текст] / В. И. Карасик. Волгоград, 2002. 477 с. 10. Караулов Ю.Н. Русский язык и языковая личность. Москва : Наука, 1987. 262 с.
11. Качмар В. М. Формування мовної, мовленнєвої, комунікативної компетенції майбутнього економіста [Електронний ресурс] // Науково-інформаційний вісник : Економіка. 6/2012. С. 242-247. URL: https://visnyk.iful.edu.ua/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/40.pdf
12. Макурина О. А. «Звезда» : основания выделения особого типа языковой личности [Електронный ресурс] / O. A. Макурина // Ярославский педагогический вестник. 2010. No 4. Том I (Гуманитарные науки). С. 289-291. – URL: http//:www. vestnik.yspu.org/releases/2010_4g/60.pdf
13. Словник-довідник української лінгводидактики : навч. посіб. / Колектив авторів за ред. М. Пентилюк. Київ : «Ленвіт», 2015. 320 c.
14. Сухих С. А. Репрезентативная сущность личности в коммуникативном аспекте реализаций / С. А. Сухих, В. В. Зеленская. Краснодар, 1997. 164 с.
15. Шахматов А. А. Синтаксис русского языка. Ленинград : Учпедгиз, 1941. 620 с.
16. Alessandro Michele. Interview, December 11, 2018. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/culture/alessandro-michelegucci-on-authenticity-in-the-age-of-artifice
17. Al Pacino. Interview, March 29, 2018. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/film/jessica-chastain-christopher-nolanal-pacino-retrospective
18. Andrew Garfield. Interview, September 17, 2010. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/film/andrew-garfield
19. Benedict Cumberbatch. Interview, November 02, 2017. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/film/benedictcumberbatch-november-2017-issue
20. Boyd Holbrook. Interview, August 4, 2014. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/film/boyd-holbrook-1
21. Channing Tatum. Interview, April 16, 2009. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/film/channing-tatum
22. Cialdini R. B., Richardson K. D. Two indirect tactics of image management : Basking and blasting. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 39(3), 1980. P. 406-415.
23. Cory Branan. Interview, June 22, 2012. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/music/cory-branan
24. Dan Levy. Interview, March 15, 2016. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/culture/dan-levy-schitts-creek
25. Daniel Craig. Interview, July 27, 2011. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/film/daniel-craig
26. David Blaine. Interview, April 27, 2010. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/culture/david-blaine
27. David Copperfield. Interview, January 17, 2017. URL:https://www.interviewmagazine.com/culture/david-copperfield
28. Demian Bichir. Interview, January 4, 2016. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/film/demian-bichir-the-hatefuleight
29. Eminem. Interview, December 07, 2017. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/music/eminem-elton-johndecember-2017-interview
30. Jared Leto. Interview, November 27, 2013. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/film/jared-leto-by-james-franco
31. John Malkovich. Interview, December 10, 2015. URL:https://www.interviewmagazine.com/film/new-again-johnmalkovich
32. Johnny Depp. Interview, March 19, 2014. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/film/johnny-depp
33. Jones E.E., Pittman T.S. Toward a General Theory of Strategic Self-Presentation. In : Suls, J., Ed., Psychological Perspectives on the Self, Vol. 1, Erlbaum, Hillsdale, 1982. P. 231-262.
34. Lenny Kravitz. Interview, February 14, 2012. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/film/lenny-kravitz
35. Marc Jacobs. Interview, November 30, 2008. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/fashion/marc-jacobs
36. Nicholas Hoult. Interview, January, 31, 2013. URL:https://www.interviewmagazine.com/film/nicholas-hoult-warmbodies
37. Paul Schrader. Interview, April 6, 2018. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/film/paul-schrader-nicolas-cageapril-issue-2018-interview
38. Pierce Brosnan. Interview, April 28, 2017. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/culture/pierce-brosnan
39. Robert de Niro. Interview, March 21, 2012. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/film/new-again-robert-de-niro
40. Ryan Reynolds. Interview, May 26, 2009. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/film/ryan-reynolds
41. Schütz A. Assertive, Offensive, Protective, and Defensive Styles of Self-Presentation : A Taxonomy, The Journal of Psychology, 132:6, 1998. P. 611-628.
42. Tom Holland. Interview, June 2, 2017. URL: https://www.interviewmagazine.com/film/tom-holland
43. Travis Fimmel. Interview, December 8, 2016. URL:https://www.interviewmagazine.com/culture/travis-fimmel
44. Woody Allen. Interview, December 16, 2011. URL:https://www.interviewmagazine.com/culture/woody-allen
Published
2019-12-27
Pages
69-77
Section
SECTION 5 TOPICAL ISSUES OF MEDIA COMMUNICATION